Skip to main content

Zotero: Home

What Is Zotero?

 is a free citation manager that you can use to store, manage and cite your bibliographic references such as books and articles.   Zotero allows you to create a personal database by importing references from online databases and sources. You can use these references when writing papers to automatically format citations and bibliographies with the correct citation style (AMA, APA, etc.).  Versions are available for Firefox, Chrome and Safari.

After you download the desktop software, you can sync your local collection to the cloud so you can use Zotero at multiple computers. Your collection is synced through the Zotero servers and can be accessed online through your Zotero.org account.  You will also need to download the Connector app if you use Chrome or Firefox .  This option automatically senses content as you browse the web and allows you to save it to Zotero with a single click.

Zotero Tutorials

The Zotero website contains instructional screencasts on many of the basic functions.  For your convenience, a few are here to help you get started.

Zotero and PubMed

Zotero is able to retrieve your PubMed citations, but not the full text pdf of the articles. You will need to download these separately and add the pdf's to your library.

1.  While viewing an abstract in PubMed, press Ctrl+Shift+S to open a pop up window to export the citation and abstract directly to Zotero.  The desktop app needs to be open for this to work.

2. Right click on theicon.  The following menu will open:

:

Use Zotero with PubMed through the Zotero/Firefox integration option.  Zotero embeds itself as an add on to Firefox.  Once installed, you will see a Zotero icon in the status bar in the bottom right corner of your Firefox browser window. Clicking on this button will open the Zotero pane.

You will see a yellow folder icon in the status bar of your browser when you search PubMed using the Firefox.  Clicking on the yellow folder will open a pop up window.  Zotero will recognize the citations from your PubMed search.  Select the citations you wish to download in the Zotero pop up window and then click OK.  Your citations will be added to your Zotero Library.  Note: the citations will be automatically downloaded into whatever folder you have pre selected.

export to zotero

Add Citations Using A PMID, ISBN, or DOi

If you already have a list of PubMed references and need a shortcut to get them into your Zotero Library, you can quickly add them with the ISBN, DOi, or PMID (PubMed identifier). Every record in PubMed has a PMID, which is kind of like a social security number in the sense that it is unique. Click on the magic wand symbol in Zotero and enter the PMID number from PubMed. Zotero will retrieve the citation from Pubmed automatically.

Add PMID to Zotero

Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine and College of Pharmacy
Harlem Campus 230 West 125th Street New York, NY 10027 (212) 851-1199