Use Quick search to get an overview of the literature and identify terms for a more complex search.
Enter a word or phrase in the search bar. Suggestions for Emtree terms will appear as you type, along with the number of articles tagged with that term. Quick Search will search your word or phrase as both Emtree terms and free text.
The advanced search form gives options to structure you search for greater precision.
Click on 
to the left of the search bar or 
under the search bar to open a menu with search filters.
Click on 
to 
limit your search by year or type of trial.
Opens a search form, where you can build searches using the PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison/Control, Outcome) framework. You can browse Emtree directly on the search page and apply the best Emtree term, along with synonyms, to each of the 4 different elements in the PICO framework.
With the PV Wizard search form you can build a comprehensive search query for literature surveillance in pharmacovigilance, in an easy and fast manner. The search form includes 5 key elements: Drug name, Alternative drug names, Adverse drug reactions, Special conditions, and Human limits.
This form contains features for designing searches specific to medical devices, including searches for adverse effect information and information about other manufacturers' products. The searches can be limited to clinical or pre-clinical studies. This medical device search form was developed and validated in consultation with industry representatives. This ensures that its function aligns with best practices for medical device-related literature monitoring.
The Drug Search form contains features for designing advanced searches specific to drugs and their effects, including safety searches and pharmacovigilance work. These features include subheadings (filters) specific to drug behavior and route of administration which do not appear in the general Advanced Search form. Field codes for drug names and manufacturers are also included.
The Disease Search form contains features for designing advanced searches that are specific to diseases. These features include subheadings (filters) specific to diseases.
Results are shown in order of publication year by default. You can change this to show the results by relevance, by author, or by date entered into Embase. Citations are displayed in Summary format. You can change the display to include abstracts by clicking 'Show all abstracts'.
Options for filtering or limiting your search appear at the top and left of your results list. For the filters on the left, select your filters then click 
. For the filters at the top, select your filters then click 
. In each case, the filters will be added to your search string and will be incorporated in the new results.
Combine previous searches by clicking the box beside the searches, select AND or OR, then click 
.
Each article will have options listed under it. "View Full Text" will link to a webpage if the article is available for free.
For full text articles the library subscribes to, choose "Link out to TCOM/TCOP" then click on 
. Choose 
to view the article. If the article isn't available, click on "Request this document through an ILL ".
Click on 
for FAQs and tutorials, including Embase video tutorials.