Skip to Main Content

Embase: Home

What is Embase?

Embase provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical, pharmacological, and clinical research literature, including:

  • Full-text indexing of drug, disease, medical device and drug trial data.

  • Information not available in MEDLINE.

  • 95 countries represented in journal selection.

  • 3.6 million conference abstracts from 11,500+ conferences.

  • Over 41 million indexed records from peer reviewed international journals, covering 1947 to date.

It is updated daily.

EMTREE is a thesaurus similar to PubMed's MeSH, but is more extensive. Emtree includes over 70,000 preferred terms, half of which are drug and chemical terms.  Additionally, it includes drug and medical device trade names, additives, manufacturer names, CAS registry numbers, molecular sequence numbers, and biotechnology.

Embase vs. PubMed

 

Embase

PubMed

Contents

  • More non-US coverage than PubMed

  • Includes MEDLINE 

  • Deeper focus on drugs, pharmacology, and medical devices

  • EMTREE is updated more frequently than MeSH

  • More drug terms in Emtree

    • generics and brand names

    • updated more frequently than MeSH

  • Includes PubMed Central (PMC)

  • Free to search without subscription

  • NIH-funded research that isn't in MEDLINE

  • Very recent MEDLINE-eligible material that has not yet been indexed

  • Some free full text articles

Searching

  • Guided mapping of keywords to Embase subject terms (Emtree)

  • All articles are indexed

  • Special searches:

    • PICO form

    • Drug, Medical Device, and Disease forms

       

  • Can use Boolean operators (ie: AND, OR, NOT)

  • Automatic mapping to Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

  • Only MEDLINE articles are indexed

  • Special searches:

    • Clinical Queries

    • Topic-specific prebuilt search strings

  • Share search results and citation lists with free MyNCBI account

 

Create an Embase account

Benefits of creating an account:

  1. Save results to your Clipboard

  2. Save and share your Searches

  3. Create email Alerts

  4. Save the Export custom field selections 

Register for a personal account by clicking on   in the upper right corner of the homepage.  Use your Touro email when filling out the registration form. 

NOTE: If you already have a personal account in another Elsevier product, you do not need to register again.

Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine and College of Pharmacy
Harlem Campus 230 West 125th Street New York, NY 10027 (212) 851-1199