Drug Patents: Home

Information about FDA-approved brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and biological therapeutic products. Includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.

Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act). The main criterion for the inclusion of any product is that the product is the subject of an application with an effective approval that has not been withdrawn for safety or efficacy reasons. In addition, the Orange Book contains therapeutic equivalence evaluations for approved multisource prescription drug products.

Contains information on all FDA-licensed (approved) biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products.

Medical devices with their associated classifications, product codes, FDA Premarket Review organizations, and other regulatory information.

The federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.

The CPC was initiated as a joint partnership between the USPTO and the EPO where the Offices have agreed to harmonize their existing classification systems and migrate towards a common classification scheme.

Patents 4 Partnerships is an initiative of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) that brings together those who have technologies and want to make them available for licensing and those who have an interest in and the ability to commercialize the technologies.

An alphabetical listing of medicinal ingredients and their associated patents, the patent expiry dates and other related information established in accordance with the Patented Medicines Regulations. Updated nightly and contains patent-related information on human and veterinary drugs from 1993 to date.

Contains information about natural health products that have been issued a product license by Health Canada. Products have been found to be safe, effective and of high quality under their recommended conditions of use.

The European Patent Office (EPO) examines European patent applications, enabling inventors, researchers and companies from around the world to obtain protection for their inventions in up to 44 countries. Espacenet offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1782 to today.

Grants Eurasian patents and publishes information about them.

Provides information on the patent and licensing status of selected HIV, hepatitis C, tuberculosis and other patented essential medicines in low- and middle-income countries. It is supported by the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP), a UN-backed public health organization.

The World Health Organization maintains a registry of non-proprietary (generic) names of medicines and pharmaceuticals.

Hosted by WIPO. Search the Pat-INFORMED database by entering a medicine’s INN (International Non-Proprietary Name) to obtain relevant information about its patent status in a particular country. In addition, this database provides links to available information on PATENTSCOPE, WIPO's own global database.

Provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.

Includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.