Skip to main content

Library Access For Preceptors and Residents

For Residents and Preceptors

The Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) Libraries provides interns, residents and preceptors with timely access to medical literature. Our outreach services are extended to TCOM faculty, staff, and students located outside the Harlem and Middletown campus environment.

The TCOM Library is committed to faculty, interns, and residents with library services comparable to services available to TCOM users at the Harlem and Middletown Libraries. Specific services include facilitating document delivery, reference assistance, literature searches and database training. 

Services

A degreed librarian is available 37.5 hours each week. The librarian can assist you in:

 Formulating research strategies
 Provide direction in finding the most appropriate resources
 Provide assistance using electronic resources
 Planning a literature review
 Assist in database searching
 Answer reference questions
 Searching databases to find citations to books and journal articles 

If you are looking for materials and you can’t find them here, we can help you locate it from other libraries. You may request articles here:

Who can make requests:

 

  • TOM students, faculty, residents, or staff members
  • Residents and Preceptors from TCOM affiliates 

Costs

There is no charge for interlibrary loan service for TCOM faculty, staff, students. If materials cannot be found for free we will contact you before proceeding.

How long does it take to receive a request?

  • Article – 1-3 day average
  • Requests made after hours or when the library is not staffed can take longer
  • Rush orders can be requested, there may be additional costs

How am I notified?

  •  You will either receive email notification or a link to download.

Databases

Accessing databases through TCOM Libraries:

  • You will need a computer with Internet access.
  • You will need an OpenAthens username and password.
  • Go to the library’s home page  
  • Click on “A-Z Databases” under the Resources heading

Choose the database you wish to search.

For a complete list of resources, go to https://touromed.libguides.com/az.php. Some resources may be restricted to specific user type.

Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine and College of Pharmacy
Harlem Campus 230 West 125th Street New York, NY 10027 (212) 851-1199