AMA Manual of Style is a writing resource is for the medical, social sciences and scientific publishing community.
The American Medical Association (AMA) style was created by editors of the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA). AMA style specifies writing and citation styles for scholarly works in medicine. AMA style is internationally recognized and is used throughout disciplines in the health sciences. The AMA Manual of Style was first published in 1963, and is currently in its 10th edition (2007).
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account.
Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
Study support platform covering the basic sciences, organ systems, clinical reasoning and more. The Osmosis platform provides a comprehensive medical video library, high-yield notes, flash cards and case questions.
NOTE: You will need to use your Touro email to create an account.
Login access to this health & life sciences resource is available to members of the Touro Harlem/Middletown campuses only.
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,000 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.
Draw it to Know it teaches medical sciences in a purely kinesthetic way, revitalizing a classic approach to science education for the modern classroom. Each diagram is narrated and clearly drawn in whiteboard tutorials.
DOWNLOAD THE APP
Draw-along or label-along with the video tutorials within the app.
Draw figures from a starter image OR label completed figures.
Compare against completed figures in side-by-side or full-scale view.
Don’t have an iPad, you can still register, draw, and follow on the online website, DrawItToKnowIt.com (but you need to register first).
Instructions to activate on device
1. Download the Draw it to Know it app from iTunes at https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/draw-it-to-know-it/id517545760?mt=8
Collection of 2,000 ebooks focusing on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas. Designed for use in clinical settings, medical libraries and academic medical institutions, a subscription to EBSCO Health's eBook Clinical Collection offers nearly 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.
Journal of Medical Insight is a peer-reviewed surgical video journal / virtual operating theatre. JOMI has published surgeons operating at Massachusetts General Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Charite Hospital (in Berlin), Duke Medical Center, Rothman Institute, and many others and, at present, primarily focuses on general surgery, orthopaedics, orthopaedic trauma, neurosurgery, and head and neck surgery.
NOTE: Students can begin accessing JOMI immediately by creating an account on our website using their institutional email, and stating their affiliation with Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine, Harlem Campus.
Thieme's MedOne-Education is a collection of textbooks and atlases of anatomy, including 100 E-textbooks for MD, PT, PA, and programs in health sciences, 42,000 images for download and re-use in teaching materials and course packs, videos of physical therapy manipulation techniques.
Pharmaceutical Substances is Thieme’s online database providing critical information on every API of significance, including the detailed synthetic method for the industrial synthesis of the drug, intermediates, applications, trade names, manufacturers, patents and journal references. The resource is designed to provide a succinct overview of the chemistry behind every active pharmaceutical ingredient of significance and insights into the pharmaceutical industry. It is an essential for students, instructors, and researchers involved in pharmacology, drug discovery, development, and application.
Picmonic is research proven to make studying more effective. We take textbook information for topics like Pharmacology, Microbiology, Physiology, and more - and turn them into unforgettable images and stories you can learn to recall information faster and retain it longer.
RefWorks is a bibliographic management program that allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported into RefWorks from text files or online databases. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers, generating formatted bibliographies and manuscripts.
USMLE® Easy™ makes the questions hard, so passing is easy! With powerful customization tools and more than 11,000 questions covering all the disciplines and organ systems included on the USMLE Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3, USMLE Easy allows you to easily master concepts based on your individual strengths and weaknesses.
Visible Body, is a comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body that provides access to 3D views, animations, quizzes, and much more. It may be accessed via an internet browser, or via the app. Includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures— developed by medically trained medical illustrators and vetted by leading anatomists—covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps health care providers recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. It captures the variation disease presentation by age, skin type, body location and severity, combining high quality medical images with a unique search engine to give you patient-specific answers in seconds.