Skip to main content

Access Medicine Case Files: User Resources

Collection of interactive basic science, clinical rotation, medicine, and post-graduate level cases from the McGraw-Hill 23 Case Files series books, presented in an interactive format that allows users to save progress and quiz themselves as they study; i

Searching

The search feature in Case Files Collection is simple and easy to use. You can learn more about the search feature at this link.

Search:

  • In Case Files Collection, you can search for resources across all content types
  • Auto-suggest appears as you type (can be disabled)
  • You can "phrase search" using quotations
  • Get the same search results by combining terms together or by using AND
    • e.g., asthma pediatrics = asthma AND pediatrics

Search Builder:

To the left of your search results, search builder allows you to:

  • Focus the search by modifying your terms (keyword, title, author, ISBN)
  • Filter results by format 
  • Narrow results by topics

Federated Search:

A federated search expands your results from Case Files Collection to include results from other McGraw Hill Access Medical sites. 

  • Use the dropdown menu to the left of the search bar to select federated search
  • Search builder elements above apply
  • Green dot indicates the item is available in your subscription 

Content Maps

With our content maps, our digital medical resources are matched with academic curriculum or professional specialty needs for a specific audience (i.e., medical students, advanced practice nursing students, emergency medicine students, practicing clinicians, etc.). Resources highlighted in content maps include entire books, book chapters, quick references, multimedia, cases, and question banks. General content maps for faculty and students pair key MH resources with curriculum accreditation standards for specialty clinical education (i.e., undergraduate medical, family nurse practitioner, nurse midwifery, clinical nurse specialist, etc.). Customized content maps can be created on a case-by-case basis and are specific to an institution’s educational program or professional needs.

Explore our dynamic list of content maps on the Access User Center.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with Case Files Collection and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in Case Files Collection. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site.

  • Create a MyAccess Profile: To learn more about how to create a free MyAccess profile, select the PDF link below or visit the Access User Center at this link
  • Reset Your Password: To learn how to reset your MyAccess profile password, watch this tutorial on the Access User Center

Renaming Quizzes

In Case Files Collection, you can rename review quizzes you have completed. In your MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in, Case Files Collection), under the "My Review Questions" tab, you can select the "Rename" pen tool beside any case quiz you wish to rename. This is useful for sharing quiz results.

Click the link below to view a tutorial on how to rename quizzes in your MyAccess profile in Case Files Collection or visit the Access User Center at this link.

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 
  • To request live custom training for your institution, email User Services at userservices@mheducation.com

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to User Services at McGraw Hill at userservices@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to User Services for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Linking to Cases

Case Files Collection provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. The cases vary slightly, but generally for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor.

Watch this tutorial showing how to link to content and embed our durable URLs.

Usage Reports

For more information on how to pull usage statistics for your institution, please visit our page on the Access User Center at this link.

MARC Records / KBART Title Lists

For more information about McGraw Hill MARC Records and KBART Title lists, including how to receive updates and download records, visit the Access User Center at this link.

Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine and College of Pharmacy
Harlem Campus 230 West 125th Street New York, NY 10027 (212) 851-1199