LibGuides: Writing, Citing and Plagiarism: Home

Writing Guides

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, and to others in formatting bibliographic citations."
Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals
Also referred to as the "Vancouver style" for medical journals. Recommendations by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors.

How to Write a Paper by George M. Hall (Editor)
This concise books is one of the best known guides to writing a paper for publication in biomedical journals.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Barbara Gastel; Robert A. Day
ISBN: 9781440842627
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles, including guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper. Explains how to decide which journal to submit to, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process.

Cabell's Journalytics This link opens in a new window
A source for publication information, evaluation metrics, and submission details for journals in a multitude of disciplines. Journalytics identifies appropriate venues for your research. Search by topic or journal title and filter results as desired.
Search and select journals most likely to publish your manuscript. Covers business, computer science, education, health administration, nursing, psychology and psychiatry. Includes submission guidelines, circulation, contacts, and acceptance rates.

The following guides provide general information on writing a research paper:

Inclusive Language Guidelines for Presenters to Avoid Stigmatizing Language
Last updated April 26, 2021 by Charlotte Beyer

Related Guides

Citation Tools

Citation management software enables you to create your own personal database of references, allowing you to keep track of your research and then easily incorporate these citations within your research and writing.These programs allow you to save, sort, and take notes on your sources. Generated citations are only as good as the input information, so always check your citations against a style manual.

A RefWorks institutional account is available to anyone at Touro and includes unlimited document storage, unlimited sharing inside and outside the institution, phone and email tech support, training and more. Zotero, Mendeley and Endnote Basic are other free options.

Which citation manager should I use?

RefWorks
An institutional account is available for free to anyone with a Touro email. It includes unlimited document storage and sharing.
Endnote
Useful tool for organizing references and creating bibliographies.
Mendeley
Free citation manager and academic social network.
Zotero
Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

AMA Manual of Style Online

AMA Manual Of Style
Refer to our guide for AMA Citations

AMA quick guide