Study Room Rules

• Must be a current student of TouroCOM Montana Campus—use your Touro email to book your space.
• The study rooms are unmediated and unlocked.  Anyone can use the study rooms but priority is given to the group who has placed a LibCal reservation during the current time.
• Have your confirmation email available to show patrons who might already be occupying the space.
• If a group with a reservation shows up, those in the room must vacate.

Please keep the room tidy. Thank you!

Reserve Materials

STUDENTS:
Two hour loan period. Books must be returned on time. Reserves may be renewed for an additional 2 hours. Overnight loans (check-outs within two hours of closing) are not renewable, but due first thing the following staffed morning.

Books and Study Guides

STUDENTS:
Two week loan period – Renewable for an additional week.

FACULTY & STAFF:
30 day loan period – Renewable for an additional month.

Limits

Depending on the size of the collection, there may be limits on the number of items you may check out at one time.

Recalls

All materials are subject to recall after a specified period of time. If an item you borrowed is being recalled, we will send you a recall notice via email, informing you of the new due date for the item. Books and study guides may be recalled after students have had 6 days to use the materials.

Our mission as the Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine Libraries is to be centers of excellence that develop and sustain services and resources to support the educational and research needs of the students and faculty of the Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine in the areas of biomedical, health, and public health care information. The libraries work to understand the changing and diverse needs of our users. We are flexible and quick to adapt to changing needs and technologies and we represent Touro’s ethic of honesty, integrity, and trust.  The libraries provide services and resources to support faculty and student outreach efforts within each of our communities.

The collection includes over 25,000 health science ebook titles, 50,000 electronic journals, small print collections (varies on each campus), and many database subscriptions.

Overdue items

Overdue fees will not be charged, but materials need to be returned or renewed or you will be required to replace the item.

Lost

Overdue items will be declared lost if they are not returned by the end of the semester after the due date. You are responsible for replacing any items that are lost. 

Damaged Items

If an item is returned in very poor condition, you will be responsible for replacing the item.

Penalties

The library may suspend the borrowing privileges of students, staff, and faculty members who fail to return overdue items including recalls and reserves, and/or lost materials without replacing or informing library staff.

If materials are not returned and/or replaced, TouroCOM Montana has the right to hold student transcripts until materials are replaced or returned.

Students, Touro Montana faculty, and staff may borrow materials from the library. Please return materials when due. If staff is unavailable, please place materials on the desk.

Library Donations

The TouroCOM Great Falls, Montana, Library is pleased to accept book donations from Touro students, faculty, staff and physicians from the local community.

We CAN accept the following materials:

• Textbooks, study guides, dictionaries in the areas of Medicine (Internal, Family, Osteopathic, etc.), Biochemistry, Microbiology, Immunology, Physiology, Anatomy, Histology, Epidemiology & Public Health, Medical Ethics, Physical Examination & Diagnosis, and Medical Examination review (Boards, USMLE, etc.) that were published within the last 10 years.

• Chapter Books/Novels/Leisure Reading materials for our Book Swap Collection.

• Books that are in good condition (no torn or missing pages/covers, strong binding, no writing or excessive highlights).

• Medical books that were published less than 10 years ago. If you are donating books for our Historical Collection, we accept materials that were published more than 30 years ago. This restriction does not apply to books for our Book Swap Collection.

 We CANNOT accept the following materials: 

• Books in poor condition (pages missing/falling out, torn/missing covers, weak binding).

• Books with excessive writing or highlights on pages.

• Medical Books that were published between 10 - 30 years ago.

• Journals or Newspapers that are part of a current personal/individual subscription.

• Materials that do not fit the scope of the library’s collection.

The library reserves the right to deny or dispose of donation materials that do meet the requirements listed above. If you have any questions regarding our donation policies, please contact the library at montanalibrary@touro.edu.