LibGuides: Drug Research: Pharmaceutical Databases

Pharmaceutical Databases

Alphabetical list
List by topic

AccessPharmacy
AccessPharmacy provides pharmacy students with a variety of resources including texts, digital flashcards, and NAPLEX review questions.

American Pharmacists’ Association Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary features APhA's authoritative textbooks, PharmacotherapyFirst, an interactive NAPLEX® review, more than 250 Active Learning Exercises easily adaptable for a variety of educational settings, case studies, and information from a variety of news sources.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, Procedures Consult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. Register for a free personal account to access all site features.

Daily Meds
"Provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts".
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine, FDA and CDC.
Drugs@FDA: FDA Approved Drug Products
Published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is updated daily and provides point-of-care, evidence-based clinical topic summaries. Editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Indexes conference abstracts, papers, and summaries, which can be found using the Advanced Search function and specifying the publication type.
Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window
Provides pharmacists and healthcare professionals access to updated drug information. References and tools include: A to Z Drug Facts, Drug Facts and Comparison, Drug Interactive Facts, The Review of Natural Products, Drug Identifier, MedFacts Patient Information, Off-Label Drug Facts, Clinical Calculators, Black Box Warnings, Medication Guides, Orphan Drugs.

King Guide To Prenteral Admixtures
Compatibility and stability information for injectible drugs.
Lactmed
Provides information on drug levels in breast milk, blood levels in breastfed infants, alternate drugs that might be used during breastfeeding, and more.

Lexicomp Drug Guide (APP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp offers a comprehensive collection of drug information databases. Access includes: Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric and Neonatal Lexi-Drugs, AHFS Esssentials, AHFS DI (Adult and Pediatric), Martindale, Trissel's IV-Chek, Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, Facts & Comparisons, Lexi-Tox and more.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW): Pharmacy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains core pharmacy titles, such as Applied Therapeutics: The Clinical Use of Drugs, Patient Assessment in Pharmacy Practice, and Comprehensive Pharmacy Review for NAPLEX.

The Medical Letter
A nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases in its newsletter.

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to drug and healthcare references, including the British National Formulary, and Martindale.

NLM Drug Information Portal
Published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
A database of evidence-based information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. This resource is the result of a merger between the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database and Natural Standard.

Ovid for Pharmacy
Covers clinical medicine, health professions, life sciences etc.
USP-NF
A combination of the United States Pharmacopeia USP and the National Formulary (NF).
more...less...
To register for a free USP-NF student account:

Scroll to the bottom of that page and click on the “Create new Account” link
Fill-out the form on the screen. You will not need to enter a subscription key. The email address must be a valid address and include the University’s domain as part of that address. Ex: xxx@touro.edu
Click SUBMIT
The student will receive an email from USP-DONOTREPLY. Click on the link in the email to validate the account.
Once the account is validated, you can access USPNF here: https://www.uspnf.com

Which resource should I begin with? It depends upon the type of question.

This table identifies specific resources, as starting points, to answer common question types (listed alphabetically). Links to the resources are also given.

**Resources by Question Type**
Question Type	First Choices	Next Choices
Adverse effects	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX , UpToDate MedicinesComplete Lexicomp Access Pharmacy	DailyMed , Manufacturers’ web sites, PubMed
Bioequivalency	FDA Electronic Orange Book
Chemical Data	NLM Drug Information Portal	MICROMEDEX ChemDPlus
Clinical Trials	ClinicalTrials.gov
Comparative Information	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX	EMBASE , PubMed
Contraindications	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX , Clinical Key Lexicomp , Access Pharmacy	Manufacturers’ web sites, NLM Drug Information Portal, PubMed
Cost	UpToDate Access Pharmacy	Commercial web sites such as GoodRX.com †
Disease state information	Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th ed , Dynamed , MEDLINEPlus, UpToDate Access Pharmacy	MICROMEDEX , Natural Medicines Clinical Key
Dosage Recommendations	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX , Clinical Key Access Pharmacy	DailyMed, Manufacturers’ web sites
Drug administration	Facts & Comparisons , Access Pharmacy MICROMEDEX , Clinical Key Lexicomp Dynamed	Manufacturers’ web sites, NLM Drug Information Portal
Drug interactions (drug-drug, drug-food, drug-lab tests, drug-disease, etc.)	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX, Dynamed UpToDate Lexicomp Natural Medicines Access Pharmacy	Clinical Key, PubMed
Drugs in pregnancy and lactation	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, Lexicomp Access Pharmacy	Clinical Key, Natural Medicines
Herbal, natural & homepathic products, dietary supplements	Natural Medicines	CINAHL Plus , Lexicomp , EMBASE , MICROMEDEX , product web sites
Identification (foreign)	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX European Medicines Agency (EMEA), Lexicomp Access Pharmacy	EMBASE ,
Identification (domestic)	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX Lexicomp Access Pharmacy	product websites
Immunization schedules	CDC web site	UpToDate , Immunization Action Coalition
IV compatibility	MICROMEDEX , Lexicomp (Trissel's)
Manufacturer’s information, i.e. addresses, phone numbers, etc.	Facts & Comparisons , Manufacturers' web site
Non-proprietary and Proprietary Names	Drugs@FDA, Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX UpToDate Lexicomp	DailyMed, product web sites, PubMed
Over-the-counter products	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX Dynamed Access Pharmacy
Patient counseling/education	Facts & Comparisons , MEDLINEPlus, MICROMEDEX, Natural Medicines Lexicomp Access Pharmacy	FDA for Consumers
Pharmacokinetics	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX Lexicomp Dynamed Access Pharmacy	DailyMed, product web sites, EMBASE , PubMed
Pharmacology	Basic & Clinical Pharmacology Textbook, Facts & Comparisons, MICROMEDEX , Goodman & Gilman's Access Pharmacy	EMBASE , product web sites, NLM Drug Information Portal
Regulatory/legal information	FDA web site, Pharmacy Practice & the Law
Therapeutic use (approved indications)	Access Pharmacy Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX Dynamed	DailyMed, FDA web site
Therapeutic use (off-label uses)	MICROMEDEX	PubMed
Toxicology/poisoning	Facts & Comparisons , MICROMEDEX Lexicomp (Lexi-Tox)Dynamed	TOXLINE in PubMed, LiverTox

†Commercial website, use for informational purposes only.

Table adapted from the University of Washington Libraries CC BY-NC 4.0

Drug Research

Pharmaceutical Databases

Resources by Question Type