LibGuides: Faculty and Student Publications: Resources

Where do I publish?

Edanz was established in Japan in 1995 and has helped thousands of researchers all over the world successfully publish in international journals. Our team of expert editors and research consultants are all experienced researchers: we understand the research process and we know how to support non-native English speakers in navigating the publication journey.

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately.

Elsevier® Journal Finder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. Please also consult the journal’s Aims and Scope for further guidance. Ultimately, the Editor will decide on how well your article matches the journal.

The Springer Journal Suggester uses semantic technology to help you quickly choose the Springer journal that is right for your paper.

Enter your abstract, description of your research, or a sample text and the Springer Journal Selector provides a list of relevant journals. You can refine the results based on requirements for Impact Factor or publishing model, including an option to match to journals that are fully open access or have open access options.

Cabell's Journalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for publication information, evaluation metrics, and submission details for journals in a multitude of disciplines. Journalytics identifies appropriate venues for your research. Search by topic or journal title and filter results as desired.
Search and select journals most likely to publish your manuscript. Covers business, computer science, education, health administration, nursing, psychology and psychiatry. Includes submission guidelines, circulation, contacts, and acceptance rates.

Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
A freely available web-based application that can suggest journals and experts who have published similar articles. Jane will compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed.

WHERE TO PUBLISH- HELPING HEALTH SCIENCES PROFESSIONALS FIND JOURNALS FOR PUBLICATION QUICKLY AND SAFELY

Research-Related LibGuides

Open Access Publishing
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 6 views this year
Predatory Publishing
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 43 views this year
Literature Reviews
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 28 views this year
Systematic Reviews & Other Review Types
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Mar 13, 2024 3704 views this year
How To Conduct A Systematic Review
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 58 views this year
Writing, Citing and Plagiarism
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 33 views this year
CopyRIGHT!
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Mar 11, 2024 30 views this year
RefWorks
by Susan Lesser Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 23 views this year

Research Tools

AMA Manual of Style

Completely updated with 4 new subsections molecular medicine, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and radiology and a new chapter on medical indexes.

Conducting Research in Health Professions Education: From Idea to Publication

The free e-book, consisting entirely of Last Pages, provides over 40 one-page primers on topics related to medical education research. The e-book explores every stage of research from developing research questions, finding secondary data sources, and working in collaborations, to defining response rate, writing revisions, and promoting your published work.

NIH Grants - Office of Extramural Research
A central resource for grants and funding information.
NIH Manuscript Submission
NIH Protecting Human Research Subjects

ThinkCheckSubmit

Sharing research results is key to the progress of your discipline and career. But with so many publications, how can you be sure you can trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to make sure you choose trusted journals for your research.

Books

Understanding Clinical Research by Renato D. Lopes; Robert A. Harrington
Call Number: W 20.5 U55 2013
ISBN: 9781299825918
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
A complete guide to understanding and applying clinical research results Ideal for both researchers and healthcare providers "Understanding Clinical Research" addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials--from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight--and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics.
Designing Clinical Research by Stephen B. Hulley; Steven R. Cummings; Warren S. Browner; Deborah G. Grady; Thomas B. Newman
Call Number: WA 950 D457 2007
ISBN: 9780781782104
Publication Date: 2006-11-27
Designing Clinical Research sets the standard for providing a practical guide to planning, tabulating, formulating, and implementing clinical research, with an easy-to-read, uncomplicated presentation. This edition incorporates current research methodology—including molecular and genetic clinical research—and offers an updated syllabus for conducting a clinical research workshop. Emphasis is on common sense as the main ingredient of good science. The book explains how to choose well-focused research questions and details the steps through all the elements of study design, data collection, quality assurance, and basic grant-writing. All chapters have been thoroughly revised, updated, and made more user-friendly.
How to Do Your Research Project by Caroline Beardsmore
ISBN: 9781118642511
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
Getting involved in medical and biomedical research through necessity or personal choice can be a testing experience. Each step of the process brings its own challenges, from liaising with supervisors, to the lack of opportunities to promote completed research.
Introduction to Statistics in Pharmaceutical Clinical Trials by Todd A. Durham; J. Rick Turner
Call Number: QV 771 D953i 2008
ISBN: 9780853697145
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
This book is a self-contained introduction to Statistics, presented in the context of clinical trials and pharmaceutical drug development. It focuses on the statistical analyses most commonly used in drug development and is therefore an ideal introduction to pharmaceutical statistics. Instead of introducing a series of statistical techniques, the book's organizational structure follows the order in which numerical information and statistical analyses are used in trials and new drug development.
Rehabilitation Medicine Quick Reference by Flora Hammond
Call Number: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/touromain-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3007787
ISBN: 9781617050992
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
With over 80 information-packed chapters, Handbook for Clinical Research delivers the practical insights and expert tips necessary for successful research design, analysis, and implementation. Using clear language and an accessible bullet point format, the authors present the knowledge and expertise developed over time and traditionally shared from mentor to mentee and colleague to colleague. Organized for quick access to key topics and replete with practical examples, the book describes a variety of research designs and statistical methods and explains how to choose the best design for a particular project. Research implementation, including regulatory issues and grant writing, is also covered.
Medical Statistics by Jennifer Peat; Belinda Barton
ISBN: 9781118589915
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Medical Statistics provides the necessary statistical tools to enable researchers to undertake and understand evidence-based clinical research. It is a practical guide to conducting statistical research and interpreting statistics in the context of how the participants were recruited, how the study was designed, what types of variables were used, what effect size was found, and what the P values mean. It guides researchers through the process of selecting the correct statistics and show how to best report results for presentation and publication. Clear and concise explanations, combined with plenty of examples and tabulated explanations are based on the authors' popular medical statistics courses. T
Pharmacy Practice Research Methods by Zaheer-ud-Din Babar (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319146713
Publication Date: 2015-04-07
This book presents a contemporary view of pharmacy practice research covering theories, methodologies, models and techniques that are applicable. It has thirteen chapters covering the range of quantitative, qualitative, action research and mixed methods as well as management theories underpinning change in pharmacy practice. "Pharmacy Practice Research Methods" examines the evidence and impact as well as explores the future.

Don't see what you need, search the library Catalog!

ORCID

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) seeks to remedy name ambiguity often seen in scholarly research. It assigns an unique number linked to an individual's research publications in the form of a digital identifier. Many publishers and granting agencies require an ORCID ID during article submission or application processes.

If you have not yet created an ORCID profile, you can quickly register here. Build a detailed personal research profile where you control with whom information is shared. Alternatively, you may delegate a trusted individual to manage your ORCID profile.

As a researcher and author, also know that ORCID IDs integrate with a growing list electronic publishers, databases, universities, libraries and other types of entities. The list is viewable here.