Skip to main content

RefWorks: Sharing and Collaborating

Sharing your Collections

Each person you share your collection with will need a RefWorks account created prior to sharing in order to view your research .

  1. Click the Share & Export icon Share and Export icon or the Sharing menu item to start
Sharing menu
  1. Select the collection to be shared and the groups with whom you will share it.

Sharing Settings

  1. Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:
    • Read – view items and read documents
    • Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents
    • Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item

Inviting someone to share

  1. Optionally, add a personal note
  2. Click Share Collection

The person you've invited will get an email notification, and a notification inside RefWorks, where they can accept (or reject) the invitation. If the person doesn’t have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

Remember, when you share a collection any sub-collections are also shared.

 

Viewing a collection's sharing status

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.

collection showing Sharing icon

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

showing the link for Staring Settings next to collection name

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list

Sharing Settings options

Installing the Google Docs Add-On for RefWorks

The RefWorks for Google Docs Add-on can be found by clicking "Get Add-on" in your Google Doc or by clicking here.

RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper.  Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your Google Doc with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.   You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators. 

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.  

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on. 

Note:  Changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Installing the Google Docs Add-on for RefWorks

  1. Open a blank document and select “Add-ons”, “Get Add-ons” and search for “ProQuest RefWorks”.  Once you find it, just click on the “free” button to add it.

installing Google Docs

You’ll be asked to “accept” certain conditions of using the add-on:


conditions

Once you have accepted the conditions, you’re brought into your new document and are ready to start writing your paper. 

 

Working with the ProQuest RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

  1. Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation, select “Add-ons”, “ProQuest RefWorks”, “Manage Citations”. 

Add Ons menu

  1. If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account.  If you do not have a RefWorks account, you can sign up and receive access.  You should have an affiliation with an academic institution and use your institutional email address to register.  Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.

RefWorks add ons in word

  1. The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks “All references” view.

All References view

  1. If you want to work with a RefWorks collection of references, just click on “All references” to see your list of collections.  Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper.  You can also use the “search” option to search for specific references.  The search options searches all fields.

list of collections

search your references

  1. You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the “cite this” button.  The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

Cite This button

  1. There is also a citation editing option.  Click “Edit and Cite” to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using).   You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.

Edit and Cite

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you. 

You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert, Footnote):

Add footnotes

Changing your output style

There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:

  1.  In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the “options” icon  and select “Change citation style”

  1. Or you can select any reference from the list and click the “Cite and Edit” button and change the style:

Note:  Custom output styles are currently not accessible.

Deleting or changing citations

  1. Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  2. Insert the new citation (if applicable).
  3. Click on the “options” icon Options icon (sometimes referred to as Gear) and select “Update document”.  Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).

update document

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.

Note:  changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account

1.  Click the share icon share icon (sometimes referred to a silhouette​.

2.  Enter the email address of the person you want to share with

3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the “can edit” permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting “can comment” or “can view”)

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

 

To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:

  1. Click the Share button share button in the upper right-hand corner.  The “Share settings” box will open with access to several options:

share settings

  1. Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is “specific people”).

Advanced Settings

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

link sharing

  1. Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with.  If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine and College of Pharmacy
Harlem Campus 230 West 125th Street New York, NY 10027 (212) 851-1199